Plenty of Fish, or POF, is a Canadian online dating service, popular primarily in Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Spain, Brazil, and the United States. It is widely used and available in nine different languages. The company, based in Vancouver, British Columbia generates revenue through advertising and premium memberships. While it is free to use, Plenty of Fish offers premium services as part of their services, such as who has “liked” a member through the service’s MeetMe feature, and allowing users to see whether a message has been read and/or deleted. The premium features offered by POF are quite plenty and useful if you are a regular user.
On July 14, 2015, Plenty of Fish was sold for $575 million to Match Group, based in Dallas, owner of Match.com, OKCupid and Tinder.
If you have been having any issues with your Plenty of Fish account, you can easily get in touch with their support executives in order to figure out the issues. Your POF account also might not be getting much activity. As a result, people think their account has been deleted.
But how can you know for sure? How can you tell if your POF account was deleted? Well, there are a few ways it could happen and why it did. Plus, you’ll find out how to tell if POF deleted your account.
How to Tell if POF Account was Deleted? – Why Would POF Delete My Account?
The only reason why Plenty of Fish would remove your profile is if you violated any of the rules laid down by the website. POF wants to provide a friendly environment for its members which can be jeopardized if you display ugly forms of behavior. Here are some of the reasons why POF removes account and how to tell if POF account was deleted.
1. You Have a Spouse
Since POF is a website dedicated to matching single folks, it’s not made for married people. Therefore, if POF discovers that you’re married, your account will be promptly and permanently deleted.
2. You’re Only Interested in Casual Intercourse
POF draws a clear line between using the website to engage in a relationship and trying to find casual sex. If POF finds out that you’re only interested in the latter, they will delete your profile without consideration. You could look into other platforms if you are looking for simple casual encounters.
3. You’re Impolite to Other Users
You must not exhibit any sort of discrimination against sex, race, sexual orientation, disability, etc. The penalty for breaking this rule is profile deletion. Also, if you’re texting someone rudely or sending them obscene photos, you’re bound to get blocked by that person. If you are getting blocked too often, POF acts in favor of their users and your account will ultimately be deleted.
4. You Post Inappropriate Images
Another activity POF strictly forbids is posting inappropriate images on your profile. If you still decide to do so, and other users flag you, POF will consequently find your profile and it will be gone from the platform, forever.
5. Logging in from a Country Where POF Doesn’t Operate
Even though POF constantly looks to enter new markets, logging in from countries that don’t have access to the website might result in account removal.
Additional Activities Punishable by Deletion
Other reasons why POF may remove your profile include:
- Soliciting a business.
- Being a minor or a fake.
How to Tell if POF Account was Deleted?
As mentioned above, a sudden disappearance of the activity on your profile may be a sign of your account’s deletion. The simple explanation is that there’s no way for other users to reach you if your account has been removed.
Unfortunately, there isn’t a way you can find out by yourself whether POF deleted your account. However, other users can verify if your profile no longer exists. Here’s how they can do it:
- Go to the username search page.
- Search for the username.
If your profile shows up in the search results, this means that POF has hidden your profile. On the other hand, if the profile doesn’t pop up, it’s been removed.
Another way you can check if your profile has been deleted is by going through the messages you exchanged. In particular, if your username or profile photo doesn’t appear in the messages, POF has decided to remove your account.
The Difference Between Hiding and Deleting Your Profile on POF?
If you decide to hide your POF profile, almost no part of it will be detectable. Your profile won’t pop up in the “Meet Me” section, and other users won’t be able to connect with you. Hiding is a more moderate version of deleting your profile. Here’s how to do it on your browser:
- Access your profile and choose “My Profile”.
- Locate the “Hide Profile” button and press it.
If you’re using the Android or iOS app, do this to hide your profile:
- Enter your profile and go to the “Edit” section.
- Scroll until you locate the “Profile Visibility” menu.
- Press the toggle next to the “Hide My Profile” button.
Conversely, deleting your profile will result in its complete removal, along with all the associated settings you made. This includes your photos, conversations, paid subscriptions, preferences, and previous matches. If you choose to go ahead with the deletion, this is what you need to do:
- Open the official POF login website.
- Log in using your name and password.
- Go to the “Help” button at the top of your screen.
- Choose “Remove Profile” among available options.
- Click the link located under the heading “To delete your POF profile”.
- Enter your username, password, and the reason for leaving.
Can You Restore a Deleted Account?
Having the option to restore your old deleted account with all its preferences would be highly convenient. However, that’s not something POF enables you to do as of now. If your profile gets deleted, the best you can do is open a new one and start rebuilding it. So, once you know about how to tell if POF account was deleted, you can try and either live by the rules, or try and start a new one.
To make the most out of your time on POF and avoid a removed profile, you must abide by the community rules. It’ll help you hold on to your profile, which will allow you to meet new and fascinating people. The website is a great way to meet new people, but if they find you violating any of their strict rules, your account might be subject to review and/or complete removal in case they find that you have in fact violated their rules.